What now?

donald trumpAfter weeks of hibernating, I’ve decided to come back to my post, and in this tumultuous of all days, it looks like I’m having to talk about the election, or rather, President Trump (I still can’t believe I’m writing this, but here we are). As you can expect, the left-wing media and the social justice warriors are all in full panic mode, and why wouldn’t they be? The masses have disobeyed them at every turn, because they’ve decided that they’d rather have Trump, with his moderate nationalism, than the most corrupt politician we’ve seen in years.

I should reiterate that I’m not a Trump supporter, but I can see how we got to this point (and tried to explain it myself in real life, but I didn’t want tensions to inflame too much), and remain sympathetic to the average American who voted Trump, so before I continue, I think I should briefly clear up why most of America voted Trump, since you’re most likely in a state of utter disbelief. The whole reason America voted Trump is because the average working class has been disenfranchised by the political establishment, and tarred and feathered as scum of the earth by the media and cultural establishment.

Hillary Clinton, meanwhile, represented all that Americans hated about the political establishment – the crony capitalism, the hawkish foreign policy, the ignoring and shaming of the working class. They’re fed up with the nonsense they’ve had to put up with from the cultural and political overclass, fed up with the grandstanding from left-wing celebrities like John Oliver and Amy Schumer, and fed up with the lack of political will for reform in America, and so it’s no wonder that, in their desire for change (on which Obama did not deliver for the most part), they have chosen to elect Trump. After all, he has positioned himself as the only candidate willing to hear the voices of the working class, and it worked. Trump’s victory is the inevitable result of the establishment’s devaluing and demonising of the working class, just as Brexit was in the UK. If you ask me, the Democrats had it coming.

Personally, I feel that the most disappointing aspect of the election is Gary Johnson’s dismal failure of a campaign. I knew he wasn’t going to win, but I thought that the Libertarian Party would have more of a future if he had at least gotten 5% of the popular vote, and he failed to do that. He got 3% of the vote, meaning that a serious challenge to the two-party system is still a pipe dream, at least for now. I think it wouldn’t have been so bad if Gary Johnson didn’t screw up so much. But then, Gary was never going to be an effective challenge to someone as charismatic as Trump evidently was.

What can we expect next? Who knows, but one thing is clear. Whether you were pro-Trump or anti-Trump, whether you think he is a good businessman or an incompetent, brazen bigot, the election of Donald Trump represents a clear rejection of the political and cultural establishment, and whatever the outcome could have been, the Trump campaign has exposed the elites for the hollow, empty shells of people that they are. They have failed to make a positive case for Hillary, or their ideology, and have instead tried to tarnish the character of both Trump and the ordinary people who may have supported him. This is exactly like what the Remain camp was doing in Brexit, instead of trying to persuade Americans of a positive future in the EU (which they couldn’t), they instead smeared all Leave voters as “racist” or “xenophobic”, or whatever word they felt like.

Either way, Trump’s victory will live on as a major defeat for the progressive (sorry, regressive) left. They’ve taken it extremely personally, and now I see young people and leftists proclaiming that America is officially “stupider than the UK”.

disdain for plebs

This was found in the fine art department in my campus.

First of all, the text is woefully inaccurate. Only 48% of Americans voted for Trump, but less than that voted for Clinton. Second of all, the disdain coming from whoever made this is surely self-evident, as if suddenly Americans are morons just for voting Trump into power, and I think that’s disgusting. If you don’t like Trump, that’s fine. If you think he would make a bad president, that’s also fine, but it’s not okay to just bash ordinary people for their differences, and you certainly shouldn’t just trash the land that I love just because of it. Most of the people who voted Trump also voted for Obama, and they voted Republican because they feel that Obama’s administration screwed them over. I don’t think that’s stupid at all. I don’t give a damn who people vote for as long as you don’t bully, mistreat or alienate people just because they voted differently to how you would.

If this is the culture that is being challenged by Trump’s candidacy, then I think we are on the way towards seeing the defeat of the left, and the signs are everywhere. The liberal media is panicking like crazy, their policies are failing, their propaganda is being unanimously rejected, and their attempts to silence dissenting opinions are failing. As for Trump himself, I think I ought to congratulate him (I know I don’t agree with him entirely, but I think it’s the last honourable thing I can do). After all, Trump’s campaign from the word go has been met by all manner of opposition. He’s withstood all the slings and arrows from the controlled media, the current government, popular culture, and his political opponents. Nearly everyone tried to stop him, and yet hear he is. If anything about him impresses me at all, it’s that he had the balls to keep going despite all of that, and against the most powerful insider in American politics no less.

I must say that this election cycle has been ceaselessly interesting, but now that Trump’s elected, and once he’s sworn in, he has to not fuck up. He made a lot of promises throughout the campaign, some of them I dare say are bigger than any other politician’s promises to date. Winning the election is only half the battle for Trump. If he fails to deliver on his promises after all this, he will go down in history as the biggest loser in history. I say this not as someone who didn’t support Trump, but as someone who is watching America, and wondering what will become of it. If as he says he is interested in peaceful relations with Russia, then naturally I will look forward to that, but if he screws up, then we can enter the 2020’s with grim expectations.

Leave a Reply

