An open letter to Gary Johnson

gary johnson

Dear Gary,

I may be a British national, but I have a profound love and appreciation for America, and partly because of that I have a noticeably keen interest in American politics. I’ve been observing the US election cycle for the past 15 months now, and at this point, I think it’s fairly obvious that your country is experiencing the most turbulent time in its history in many years, particularly as the two-party system is unravelling before our eyes.

Of course I’m concerned and frustrated by the fact that many Americans are condemned to choose between two candidates who I’m not convinced are fit for the job. On the left corner, we see Hillary Clinton, an incredibly corrupt, self-centred politician who will most likely continue the cultural and economic degradation we have seen under the Obama administration, and worse, will probably start an unnecessary war if it served her interests. On the right corner, we see Donald Trump, who I personally think isn’t nearly as bad as Hillary Clinton (and I can tell that a lot of what the media says about Trump isn’t true), and even though he might give the political establishment a good kick in the ass, I think his lack of political experience is a big concern. I could be wrong, and maybe Trump will turn out to be a good president, but he’s not the kind of candidate I would choose immediately.

In the middle, on the other hand, is you, the Libertarian nominee who is working tirelessly to throw a spanner in the works, and you are certainly making an impression on people who are tired of having to choose the lesser of two evils, as seems to be the case in pretty much every US election cycle. I’m aware that there are other third-party candidates out there, but they are both completely useless. The Greens’ Jill Stein is basically a shrill environmentalist with a race-baiting, anti-Semitic VP, and an all talk and no substance attitude that I find is actually worse than Donald Trump (in fact, I think of her as a far-left Trump). The far-right Constitution Party, meanwhile, has Darrell Castle, a deeply conservative candidate with zero credibility in a party with zero credibility. That in mind, you, Gary, are the last sane man in this entire election cycle, and I think you’re well aware of that.

You’re also the only candidate who I could trust to do the job well. Your credentials are more impressive than the others, being a two-term governor of New Mexico (a state that I’m sure you can easily win in November), and you’re also the only candidate out there who’s offering real, practical solutions to the problems facing America today. Trump has some solutions but I doubt that many of them will much good if at all, and all Hillary can do is call her opponents racist or sexist, as if that actually discourages people anymore. I also prefer you because, if elected president, you will perhaps make the biggest difference out of all them – namely the discrediting of the two-party system which has served to make presidential politics such a tribal affair in the first place.

For these reasons and more, you are perhaps the first presidential candidate I can actually believe in, and that is why I have some concerns with how you’re conducting yourself. I don’t have a problem with your campaign ads. If anything, I think they need to reach a wider audience (I don’t really know if they air on cable TV in your country so its hard for me to discern their reach). The problem, as I see it, is that you’re focused on appealing to the left. Given the awfulness of Hillary Clinton, and the failure of Bernie Sanders, that wouldn’t seem like a bad strategy, but I worry that you aren’t exactly trying to appeal to conservatives who might not like Trump but would vote for him just because of party loyalty.

My first problem is that you’re operating under the mainstream media narrative that Donald Trump is a brazen racist, which is something that can easily be disproven by the fact that he has had support from various members of the black community. You’ve also flip-flopped a few times, not nearly as much as the mainstream candidates, but enough to be concerned. You’ve come out in defence of Hillary Clinton, and then opposed her again. You’ve advocated for a “climate tax” and for mandatory vaccination, and then retracted it later. Worst of all however, is your latest faux-pas. In an interview with Guy Benson of Townhall.com, you got worked up over the use of the phrase “illegal immigrant”, claiming that it is “incendiary to the Hispanic population”, and you gave no reason why other than “it just is”. You sounded very much like a politically correct agitator wagging your finger at somebody for saying the wrong thing, and I worry that you don’t realise that this is part of the problem we’re having. Part of the reason why Trump gained so much momentum is because he didn’t give a damn about who he offended, and the establishment media’s response has exposed the biases of the cultural overclass. That you probably aren’t aware of this is worrying. If you can’t get the conservative vote, then you have no hope of defeating Donald Trump, who will most likely win the election because no self-respecting voter would think to trust someone as corrupt as Hillary, and getting the conservative vote will be nearly impossible if you keep ignoring the issues that have been handed over to Trump because the political establishment doesn’t give a damn about them.

I’m aware that you aren’t exactly the most popular among libertarians (in fact, you’re more progressive positions have made you rather divisive even for pro-Libertarian outlets), but you’re the best candidate we’ve got, and even then you’ve got to start upping your game. I still believe that America is greatest country in the world, and I believe that you, Gary, are the only candidate capable of making sure it remains that way for generations to come, but you can’t do it by appealing to the left alone. You need to convince the people most likely to vote for Trump that you are even better. Of course, I’m aware that your best chance can only come if you manage to get into the debates, and at the moment it looks doubtful, but I think you could do so much better. America needs you right now more than ever, and I think you can do so much more than appealing to left-wing sensibilities.

Good luck in the election Gary, you’re going to need it.

Sincerely,

Stefan Grasso

Leave a Reply

