The beginning of the end?

From the beginning I knew that 2016 would be a very big year for me, and a lot is happening in my life right now. Most importantly, my memorable four-year stint in Coleg Sir Gar is coming to an end, and I’m currently preparing to start a new life in the Swansea College of Art. As this transitional phase goes into full swing, I know that I will have to make some sacrifices in order to make the best possible experience in uni happen, and in that regard, I would like to announce that, starting from July 1st 2016, I mau no longer be writing on Stef’s Cave, or if I do continue writing here, it will no longer be on a regular once every four days basis.

From the beginning, I knew that I wouldn’t be doing this forever. In fact, managing the blog has become more difficult, due partly because of my increased workload on my course and on my two review sites. I’ve also found myself hard-pressed to find new topics to write about, and I’m starting to grow weary of it. My workload from my current course has now significantly lightened, but I worry that it will be increasingly difficult to maintain this site while juggling the amount of work I expect to do in university.

Also, when Stef’s Cave was originally conceived, it was written with college in mind. It was originally intended to allow people to learn more about and engage with the real me, and while I accomplished that, I now worry that my writing duties had also created a more insular environment, which is contrary to what I had wanted in the first place. During what I now call the BTEC era, it became a way of expressing what couldn’t be expressed at all in the real world, especially because it was an environment that was largely bereft of the kind of intellectual discussion I would have liked.

If you’re a follower of my site, don’t worry, because whatever I decide, at least I won’t delete the blog. Also, my retirement may not be permanent. It may simply mean that I no longer post on a regular basis, but I will continue posting regularly for one more month before officially declaring my intentions, whether it’s a full-on retirement or just a long summer break. I will still moderate and/or reply to comments as they come, but for now, I’m getting ready to wrap things up for the next chapter in my life, though Stef’s Cave might not be a part of it.

2 thoughts on “The beginning of the end?

  1. I am sorry to hear about the blog, even though I thought it seemed a lot to run a blog along with a computer review site and a website filled with film reviews. I enjoyed the range of topics you discussed, from politics to media commentary and opinions about TV programmes.
    Congratulations for the success on your course and good luck with the University course.

Leave a Reply

