My approach to art

With my new art course fully under way, I thought it would be the right time to talk about my approach to art as a whole. While I will encounter numerous different styles of art, I came onto the Extended Diploma in Art and Design course with one philosophy in mind. For me, art is the practice of capturing images that don’t immediately exist in plain sight, whereas photography is the practice of capturing images that are right in front of you.

I have this approach because I’ve always believed that art is a vehicle for your imagination, whether it be your interpretation of the real world, or something completely different. I generally prefer working with 2D art (drawings, sketches, paintings, etc.), but I’m generally not too picky about subject matter, as long as I feel like I can justifiably make art from it.

I’m not saying that I’m unwilling to work with any art form other than the ones I like. After all, art is not something to be closed-minded about. However, I feel that it’s important to have a unique, personal approach to art, because such an approach would inevitably be a part of my style. Think of it as the glue that holds it together.

Over the next two years, I hope to live up to this artistic vision, and develop the skills necessary to create the images that float around inside my head. This, I feel, is a necessary step if I want to be a creative writer or artist in my own game development team.

Leave a Reply

