Top 10 upcoming games I want to play

This is a very special post, since this is the first of what I hope will be a series of video game countdowns. I originally wanted to make video game countdown videos on YouTube, but I eventually lost enthusiasm for that project, and when this site was made, I eventually thought it would be useless to make videos.

Anyway, this first video game countdown is about upcoming games that I’m looking forward to playing when they come out. It’s similar to a post I already wrote, but last time, this was about E3 2013. This time, I’ve thought about ten games that I think have potential. As usual, I’ll be doing this in descending order, with #10 being the game I have the least expectations for, and #1 being the game I have the highest expectations for.

With all that out of the way, let’s get started.

#10 – Final Fantasy Explorers

final fantasy explorers

  • Console: 3DS
  • Release Date: Winter 2014 (Japan)

After the huge disappointment that was Bravely Default, I almost thought that the Final Fantasy spin-offs were doomed, until two months ago, when an interesting new title called Final Fantasy Explorers was announced in Japan’s Shonen Jump magazine.

Simply put it, Final Fantasy Explorers is a quest-driven action-RPG where you can fight classic Final Fantasy monsters and summons. Your main goal in the game is to gather crystals that have been scattered across the world. Like in the classic Final Fantasy games, you can give your character a job class, but so far, nothing has been revealed about the job system. I just hope it’s better than Bravely Default’s disappointingly limited job system.

The reason why it’s only #10 is because not much can be said about it yet, and I’m a little worried about the online multiplayer aspect, mainly because this means I may only be able to play as one character. Also, no European release date has been confirmed as of yet, and given that it’s a JRPG, it might take a long while before it comes out here in Europe.

#9 – Mad Max

mad max 2015

  • Console: PS3/PS4/Xbox 360/Xbox One/PC
  • Release Date: TBA 2015

Does anyone remember that Mad Max video game that was announced at E3 2013? If you’ve been following that game, then you’ll probably already know that the release date for this game has been pushed back to 2015, the same year that Mad Max: Fury Road is set to hit theatres. Already it’s beginning to seem like a tie-in for the new Mad Max movie, which seem ridiculous.

As I mentioned last year, the main selling point of this game is that you can customize your vehicle into a veritable war machine that’s fit for survival in a post-apocalyptic wasteland. One other thing that attracts me is that you can choose how you complete objectives as opposed to being forced to complete objectives in a certain way.

The last game I played that involved vehicular combat was Jak X, which came out nearly 10 years ago. In theory, this game sounds so good on paper, but just how well will it be implemented in practice?

#8 – Destiny

destiny 2014

  • Console: PS3/PS4/Xbox 360/Xbox One
  • Release Date: September 9th 2014

Even though this was made by the creators of Halo, I am actually really interested in this game, mainly because of the prospect of a first-person shooter game where you can choose a class, much like in a Final Fantasy game. Coupled with the ability to pick your character’s race, this provides a lot of much-needed depth to a genre that’s been going stale for seven years.

I can just about tell that there’s a sense of originality in this game that’s not like most other sci-fi shooters out there today, and with the game’s impending release just 22 days away, I can’t wait to get my hands on this high-concept FPS game. Will be the first truly ground-breaking FPS I’ve seen in a while? I can only hope so.

#7 – Star Fox

star fox

Image of actual game not found.

  • Console: Wii U
  • Release Date: TBA 2015

Two months ago, Shigeru Miyamoto unveiled a demo of the first Star Fox game in 8 years. Today, there’s still a shortage of information, but at the very least we got a technical demonstration of what Nintendo’s planning for this game. Even if I’m somewhat sceptical about some of the gameplay elements, I still think it’s great that one of Nintendo’s most important franchises is going to make a comeback.

For this game, the developers clearly want to shake things up rather than just developing another old-fashioned Star Fox game, and I think that a shake-up of the old gameplay might resurrect the franchise. However, I think Nintendo should at least be careful about whether or not they alienate die-hard Star Fox fans. After all, they’re the ones who’ll be interested in playing this game more than anyone else will be.

#6 – Broforce

broforce

Welcome back to the 80’s!

  • Console: PS4/PS Vita/PC
  • Release Date: TBA 2015

Indie game developers know how to bring classic side-scrolling gameplay back to gaming, and that spirit, we have Broforce, a tribute to action movies of the 80’s and 90’s.

In this game, you can play as a “bro”, a parody of a famous action hero. As part of the game’s style, the bros are basically hypermasculine action heroes who fight terrorists and rescue prisoners of war from captivity. It sounds as though this was inspired by Rambo: First Blood Part II, and that’s one of the most awesome things about this game.

Another thing to get excited about is the destructible enivornments. Think of this game as like Contra, only you get to destroy parts of the level. How could I not want to play this game? It’s everything I could want in an 80’s-style action game.

#5 – Azure Striker Gunvolt

azure striker gunvolt

  • Console: 3DS
  • Release Date: TBA 2014

From the makers of Mega Man, we get an entirely new concept for a classic-style side-scrolling action game. In this game, you play as a psychic who is part of an organization whose goal is to bring down the Sumeragi Group, who subjugate psychics and perform cruel experiments on them.

The game is highly reminiscent of Mega Man X, but has plenty of original ideas of its own. It’s also worth noting that the game is heavy of the anime visuals, with colourfully drawn characters. The game also looks like a really shiny 2D game. It kind of looks like it was made for the Game Boy Advance, which makes sense because it’s being made by the same people who made the Mega Man Zero games.

It’s going to come out in Japan on Wednesday, and it’s due for a US release on August 29th, but so far, no UK release date has been confirmed. I’m hoping that it does get released here, because if it doesn’t get released at all in Europe, I would be severely disappointed.

#4 – Hyrule Warriors

hyrule warriors

  • Console: Wii U
  • Release Date: September 19th 2014

This is one of the games that’s making me want a Wii U so badly. It’s basically a Legend of Zelda game with elements of Koei’s Dynasty Warriors series. Seeing Link hack and slash enemies in a more action-oriented Zelda game sounds like an awesome concept, and all those trailers that showcased the different characters’ fighting styles sealed the deal for me.

Of course, the game isn’t simply mindless action. There are RPG elements, such as equipment and character level-ups. Also, you get to use items like bombs from the original Zelda games. Though some elements of the plot might not make a whole lot of sense, it’s only the action I care about, and it’s going to be awesome.

#3 – Pokémon Omega Ruby and Alpha Sapphire

omega ruby and alpha sapphire

  • Console: 3DS
  • Release Date: November 28th 2014

I’m pretty sure this one’s a no-brainer. I’m a die-hard Pokémon fan, and Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire are my favourite Pokémon games, so naturally, I’m very excited about the new Pokémon games coming out this November.

As excited as I am, however, these games only get the #3 spot because I know that, by-and-large, they’re basically going to be remakes of Ruby and Sapphire with the X & Y engine. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. In fact, I think they’re actually going to be better than Pokémon X & Y, mainly because I don’t have to expect lots of new Pokémon.

I’m also interested in all those new Mega Evolutions, although giving Audino a Mega Evolution was a monumentally stupid idea.

#2 – Mighty No. 9

mighty no. 9

  • Console: All contemporary consoles
  • Release Date: April 2015

While Azure Striker Gunvolt is similar to Mega Man, Mighty No. 9 literally is Mega Man. This is basically Mega Man for a whole new generation, complete with new ideas, a fresh face, and a new name. If that’s not enough, Keiji Inafune is also interested in expanding Mighty No. 9 into it’s own new franchise.

I’ve been a Mega Man fan for five years now, and with the absence of any new Mega Man games, and not to mention the cancellation of Mega Man Universe, I was completely excited about this game as soon as it was announced. This is a game that aims to show the world that good-old fashioned 2D gameplay can never truly die. In fact, it could just turn out to be better than ever.

#1 – Super Smash Bros. 4

super smash bros. 4

  • Console: Wii U/3DS
  • Release Date (3DS Version): October 3rd 2014
  • Release Date (Wii U Version): Q4 2014

If Hyrule Warriors made me want a Wii U, then this game made me beg for one. Ever since Mega Man was confirmed as a playable character, I’ve been anxiously awaiting the new Super Smash Bros. games, which I think they should have called either “Super Smash Bros. 4” or “Super Smash Bros. Universe”.

It sucks that I can’t get the Wii U version yet, but I’m at least looking forward to the 3DS version, mainly because I won’t be missing out on too much. As soon as I get the Wii U, I swear that this will be one of the first games I get for it.

Besides, I’m highly confident that, even though the 3DS version may be the inferior version, both versions will be incredibly fun games. Even better is that there probably won’t be a Subspace story mode as there was in Super Smash Bros. Brawl.

Leave a Reply

