You are who you are

Yesterday, I came back from Italy after a searingly hot vacation. In it, I tried as hard as possible to avoided the dreaded skin tan, while dealing with the preposterous idea that it was somehow cool to let your skin get tanned out in the hot sun.

While in Italy, I learned three important things about myself.

  1. I’m not on the same wavelength as all the beach enthusiasts out there (I’ll have more on that later).
  2. That I really should go at my own pace when it comes to going out and seeing the world as it is.
  3. When it comes down to it, I’m basically a nerd, and I’m proud of that.

The lesson here is that you should be who you are, as opposed to what’s fashionable. This, for me, is a credo that is ignored way too often in the pursuit of seeking society’s approval.

As implied by the title, this has basically become my new credo, but it’s not one that should be taken lightly. If you want to follow this credo, then you must resist anything and anyone that would try to interfere with in a non-constructive manner.

If you want to preserve your individuality, you must be prepared to face hardships and make sacrifices. If that sounds intense for some people, then know that it’s either this, or spend your life going with the flow of other people’s expectations.

As for me, I feel just right being a nerd, but not the stereotypical nerd that’s so aggressively caricatured in so many cliché high school movies. I also like having pale, untanned skin, mainly because it’s somehow popular among reality TV stars. In the end, I’d rather fight to defend my individuality than go with the flow.

One thought on “You are who you are

Leave a Reply

