My Top 5 favourite Pokémon (from Gold/Silver)

pokemon gold and silver

Yesterday, I wrote a post about my Top 5 favourite Pokémon from Pokémon Red and Blue. For the rest of March, I’m going to continue on what the next major Pokémon games for my Top 5 Pokémon from each of the other generations, ending with Pokémon X and Y.

Today, I’d like to continue with one of my all-time favourites: Pokémon Gold and Silver. When I was a kid, I played them more than Pokémon Red and Blue, mainly because they were so much better than Pokémon Red and Blue, which itself is an accomplishment because they were already great games.

Of course, this also means a wave of new Pokémon, and two important new types, but without further ado, let’s get this started.

#5 – Scizor

 

scizor

This is probably the only Steel-type on the list, but I think it’s worth it. In Pokémon Gold and Silver, you could never get Scizor until after you had beaten the Elite Four because you could only get the Metal Coat on the S. S. Anne, which you board after beating the Champion.

In later Pokémon games, you could find Scyther more easily, which is important if you’re playing Pokémon X and Y, where Scizor is useful for beating the champion’s best Pokémon.

Even though Scizor is extremely weak to Fire and is fairly sluggish, it at least only has one weakness, and it’s physical and defensive stats more than make up for it. Also, in my opinion, Scizor has one of the best Mega Evolutions in the whole game (second only to the over-powered Mega Mewtwo Y).

Scizor is meant to be used as a physical fighter, but its solid defences allow it to take other primarily physical fighters. However, if there’s only one problem I have with it, it’s that you can’t really be creative with its move pool, and its poor Special Attack stat prevents it from exploiting the low Special Defence stats of Rock-type Pokémon.

#4 – Ampharos

ampharos

Since you can’t normally catch Pikachu until you arrive in Kanto, say hello to the next best thing, and it turns out that catching Mareep is one of the best things you can do in Pokémon Gold and Silver.

Ampharos actually has better overall stats than Raichu, and even though it’s quite slow, its offensive and defensive stats make up for it very well. Also, its Mega Evolution gives it the Dragon type, and by sacrificing a bit of its Speed stat, all the other stats except HP get a large boost, especially its Special Attack. Either way, Ampharos is a good at sweeping enemies with special attacks.

It can use powerful Electric-type moves to zap its enemies to death, while also using a variety of other moves like Power Gem, Dragon Pulse, or Signal Beam. Of course, it get the number 4 spot because of its slow speed.

#3 – Typhlosion

typhlosion

Whenever I played Pokémon Gold, I would choose between either Cyndaquil or Totodile. Though Totodile is my favourite, sometimes I’d pick Cyndaquil because its cool. Of course, it doesn’t start getting really good until you get Typhlosion.

In Pokémon Gold and Silver, you could teach it Thunderpunch easily by TM, allowing it to fight Water-type Pokémon if it were necessary. Also, because Thunderpunch counts as a special move in the old Pokémon games, the damage would come from its Special Attack stat, which is very supportive to say the least.

As a Fire-type starter, its not as good as Charizard, but it has well-balanced stats, and at least it’s not extremely vulnerable to Rock-type moves. Also, I just think it’s a fun Pokémon to have on the party.

#2 – Lugia

lugia

Also known as the guardian of the seas, I was always a big fan of this magnificent legendary Pokémon. Even though I played Pokémon Gold, I like Lugia more because it was just more unique.

Even though it’s billed as a legendary bird, it’s actually more like a dragon. Sometimes, I think it should have been classified as either a Water/Dragon type or a Dragon/Flying type, but I guess a Psychic/Flying type would be unique for a legendary Pokémon.

In combat, Lugia’s stats focus more on Defence and Special Defence, meaning it can take quite a beating. It can use Rain Dance to weaken the power of Fire-type moves, which is useful when you consider that its polar opposite, Ho-Oh, is a Fire-type. Also, if you have it with Rain Dance, its also a good idea to teach it Thunder so that it can blast its enemies.

In terms of design and performance, Lugia is more impressive than Ho-Oh, mainly because I find it to have a more varied fighting style than Ho-Oh.

#1 – Feraligatr

feraligatr

Yes, the number 1 spot for Generation II goes to Feraligatr. As I mentioned earlier, I would generally choose either Cyndaquil or Totodile, but Totodile was my favourite choice.

Like Blastoise, Feraligatr was an extremely reliable ally when I played Pokémon Gold, mainly because it could hold its own against almost any foe. If there was a Grass-type or a Dragon-type, I could simply teach it Ice Punch by TM and watch Lance get royally crushed.

Even though Feraligatr’s stats lean more towards physical Attack and Defence, it could still use non-physical Water-type moves like Surf to great effect. In fact, I usually use Feraligatr for Surf, both in and out of battle.

In later games, Feraligatr is now more ideal as a physical sweeper, which makes me wonder what it would have been like if I picked Totodile instead of Chikorita in Pokémon HeartGold.

Either way, Feraligatr was great in Pokémon Gold, a game that was better than its predecessor. I’m not sure if Feraligatr is better than Blastoise, but I think its better that they’re both equally great.

Honourable mentions

  • Meganium
  • Tyranitar
  • Espeon
  • Crobat
  • Noctowl
  • Lanturn
  • Azumarill
  • Politoed
  • Girafarig
  • Steelix
  • Piloswine
  • Houndoom
  • Kingdra
  • Entei
  • Raikou
  • Celebi
  • Stantler

Part (2 of 6)

Leave a Reply

