My Top 5 favourite Pokémon (from Red/Blue)

I have something special in mind. Almost anyone can do a “Top 10 Favourite Pokémon” list, or even a “Top 100” list. For me, this would be too hard, especially considering that I would have to choose from 719 different Pokémon, and there are so many from different generations that I like (though not many from Generation VI).

Instead of the conventional way of making this list, I thought of instead doing six separate lists, where I list my 5 favourite Pokémon from each generation, obviously starting with the first generation.

pokemon red and blue

Pictured: Classic games

Most of us die-hard Pokémon fans started with Pokémon Red and Blue, and for many Pokémon fans, Red and Blue were the best games in the series. As a seasoned veteran, I hold the first generation in very high regard, mainly because the Pokémon from back then were so original, and awesome.

#5 – Nidoking

nidoking

Whenever I used to start a new playthrough on Pokémon Red, I would almost always pick Nidoking as one of my team. I always liked Nidoking when I was a kid, mainly because it was just as badass as it looked.

First of all, Nidoking has a unique type combination. While Nidoking is weak to Psychic, Ice, Water, and other Ground-type moves, it could still hold its own against most of its opponents. In Pokémon X and Y, Nidoking becomes even more useful due its increased base Attack stat, and its advantage over the new Fairy type.

Speaking of stats, Nidoking has well-rounded stats, meaning that its actually a very good fighter, and you can afford to teach it both physical and special moves, which is great when you consider the wide range of moves it can learn by TM (if you wanted to, you could teach it Surf).

#4 – Raichu

raichu

As a kid, Pikachu was always everyone’s favourite, even though Pikachu had weak defences. I think people only really loved Pikachu because of the Pokémon anime. For me, it always made more sense to evolve it into Raichu, even in Pokémon Yellow, where Pikachu follows you around.

Even if Electrode was a lot faster, Raichu was better all round, and it was just more enjoyable to have on the team. Because Pikachu evolved into Raichu by Thunderstone, I always evolved Pikachu as soon as I got it to learn Thunderbolt and bought a Thunderstone.

I almost every Pokémon game, I almost always pick an Electric-type. In Red/Blue, that choice is usually Raichu, mainly because it’s so damn fun. If you’re a Pikachu fan, don’t flip out, because in order to get Raichu, I have to have caught a Pikachu first. Everybody wins.

#3 – Charizard

charizard

If Pikachu was Japan’s favourite Pokémon, then Charizard must have been America’s favourite Pokémon. It’s not like I was any different. Charizard is still one of my favourite starter Pokémon.

Charizard may just be a fire-breathing dragon, but it’s not a dragon-type. It’s actually one of the more creatively designed Gen I Pokémon, though one thing I found odd is that in Pokémon Red/Blue, it couldn’t learn Fly, even if it had wings. Thankfully, they corrected this in Pokémon Yellow. From then on, if you picked Charizard, you don’t need to catch one of those damned Normal/Flying bird Pokémon in order to fly.

Charizard may not be a Dragon-type, but since the later generations, it could certainly fight like one. It can learn moves like Dragon Claw to fight dragons, and it can use Shadow Claw to fight ghosts. Of course, all that goes alongside its trademark fire breath.

I get that Charizard is one of the coolest Pokémon out there, but does it really deserve two Mega Evolutions? The fact that Charizard has two Mega Evolutions is actually quite unfair to the other starters, because it means Nintendo is treating Charizard better than the others just because its more popular.

Thankfully, that doesn’t change anything about Charizard itself, because its still a great Pokémon.

#2 – Gengar

gengar

Gengar was a Pokémon that I always wanted since I was 7. To this day, it remains my favourite Ghost Pokémon, and I used it whenever I got the opportunity in Pokémon Red, Gold and LeafGreen.

In combat, Gengar was a very good special sweeper, with an incredibly high Special Attack stat and high Speed stat. It could also learn a number of special moves like Thunderbolt, Shadow Ball and Psychic.

My only real problem with Gengar is that it isn’t good physical attacks, and can easily by beaten down by certain physical attacks. Because it’s weak to Dark-type moves, and because of its fairly weak Defence stat, a single Crunch from a Pokémon with a high enough Attack stat is enough to knock it out cold in one hit.

While that is pretty bad, it’s excellent performance in combat outweighs its weaknesses. Besides, common sense would tell you not to use Gengar against a Pokémon like Weavile or Aegislash.

#1 – Blastoise

blastoise

One of my favourite starter Pokémon of all time, this Pokémon has been there since the very beginning, and I say this because when I first got Pokémon Red, my starter choice was Squirtle.

For me, Blastoise was a lot more versatile than the others. If you wanted to fight Venusaur with Blastoise, you could teach it Ice Beam. If you wanted to fight a regular Poison-type with Blastoise, you could teach it Earthquake. Nowadays, you could teach it Flash Cannon to take out Fairy-types.

For some of the tougher battles, Blastoise was my go-to guy, mainly because of its balanced stats, wide move pool, and the fact that, being a Water-type, it can hold its own against a lot of the enemies in the game.

No matter how look at it, Blastoise is just a generally kick-ass Pokémon, and for that reason, it’s the best Pokémon from Generation I.

Honourable mentions

  • Dragonite
  • Mewtwo
  • Alakazam
  • Lapras
  • Dewgong
  • Zapdos
  • Electrode
  • Magmar
  • Electabuzz
  • Poliwrath
  • Scyther
  • Fearow
  • Venomoth
  • Sandslash
  • Golduck
  • Golem
  • Rapidash
  • Cloyster
  • Rhydon
  • The Eeveelutions

(Part 1 of 6)

Leave a Reply

