Game reviews are a dying medium

My secondary site, Stefan Grasso’s Game Reviews is nearly a year old, and in the time its been released, it’s only gotten over 2,300 views. Apparently, a lot of people don’t read online game reviews anymore. Most people would much rather watch video reviews or “let’s plays” to get their impression of a game.

While I do admit that videos do give a better impression of a game, I prefer writing my own reviews as opposed to making videos for them, mainly because every video editing software I’ve worked with (and I haven’t worked with a lot) has the tendency to crash after a while.

It used to be that if you wanted to know whether a game was good or bad, you would buy a magazine like Nintendo Power, and they would be the source of your game reviews. In those days, only a professional could write game reviews. Nowadays, there isn’t a lot that you actually need. You don’t even need a college education to write a review at all, just that amateurs are treated differently based on their medium of choice.

Right now, all it takes for a complete amateur to be popular is to record gameplay footage and add his/her own commentary, and he/she will undoubtedly get some attention in no time. Meanwhile, if a similar amateur wrote a game review and published it online, then I guarantee that it won’t get noticed much.

The only people who still write game reviews the traditional way are the mainstream media outlets, like IGN, GameSpot, and Edge, and they all get paid to give the mainstream franchises good reviews all around.

Don’t get me wrong, I actually do like some of the videos, but I’ve got to speak in defence of my own medium. That, and I do get tired of putting a lot of effort into a project where some of it is wasted, while someone with the right tools can get the limelight just because he can shout the loudest.

One thought on “Game reviews are a dying medium

  1. I’ve been around writing reviews for awhile.
    I’ve owned a few editorial websites, however they aren’t a dying medium.

    It’s more of a matter of advertising and setting up your seo, which can be difficult.

    Good article though!

Leave a Reply

