The joy of fantasy

Ever since I was a teenager, I was always captivated by the idea of writing a fantasy setting. This comes from a wide range of influences, starting from when I was 12, when I played The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning, and when I was still a hardcore BIONICLE fan (yes, I’m ready to admit it).

As I got older, I got exposed to yet more essential influences. On the Internet, I learned more about the older Final Fantasy games, and started playing them. The first six Final Fantasy games, particularly Final Fantasy V, were very influential on me during my teenage years, and they still are today.

At home, I’ve come up with a range of story ideas (all of which I’ve kept secret), a crapload of characters (again, they’re all secret), and more than a few worlds (once again, all secret), and I’ve been doing this for the past 7 years. I do this because I have a hyperactive imagination…and because I don’t go out much.

I’ve always had a hyperactive imagination, and I’ve always touted it as one of my most defining qualities. Fantasy fiction, therefore, should probably be my forte. However, I do recognize that I’m not entirely ready to write complete scripts. This is why my ideas are mainly in a basic stage.

However, this may change sooner than I think. This year, I’m looking into a media course in college which, I’ve been told, covers script-writing as part of the course. In theory, this will be significantly helpful towards my ambition of being the creative leader of my own game development team, and one who is firmly in charge of my ideas.

My hyperactive imagination has always been my primary mode of escape from a menial, doomed world that doesn’t value creativity and free thought, and that is ultimately why I’ve always enjoyed writing fantasy, because I like my world better.

One thought on “The joy of fantasy

  1. Good luck in your escape from the “menial, doomed world” … The problem with most fantasy, as I see it, is that most of the stuff is just contemporary stuff transported into another age and “nothing new under the sun”. There are, imho, still few authors who have tried to break that spell, like Robert A. Heinlein who developed a totally different societal structure for the “nests” of Mars (cf. “Stranger in a strange land” and other novels).

Leave a Reply

