The boy’s in a bubble

bubble

Not literally. This is a metaphor after all.

If there’s one thing I came to realize by the end of the last year, it’s that I had been kept in a protective bubble by people who thought it was right to keep my from seeing the real world. Apparently, we live in a society that’s doped up on hyper-liberalism; where you can get away with punching someone, but you have to watch what you say around certain people.

By the end of 2013, I became under the impression that I was being kept away from the true nature of the world and human nature deliberately so that I could never react to it intelligently.

Who would have reason to do this? My parents, primary school, and whoever’s idea it was to make action movies sound way more violent than they actually were. Why would they do this? I don’t really have much of an idea why, but apparently there are some small-minded people who think that autistic kids like me need to be protected, and just so happens that such small-minded individuals calls the shots just because they know how to bark louder than anyone else.

When I was a kid, I was made to feel guilty about all sorts of things (I won’t go into it), so as a result, I just wound up hiding a lot of how I felt about things in school, with art, drawing and video games being my only outlets of escape.

With this in mind, I can’t help but think that I was being hidden from the reality of the world, from the truth that good people can be bad, and bad people can be good. I feel that I’ve been kept away from all the truths as a child by people who wanted to ensure that I “stayed on the right path”. Of course, I wouldn’t have learned this had I not experienced that feeling first hand.

I think it’s time we stopped putting people like me in a bubble. The people who are wrong are the people who think that certain people should be protected from criticism, and from reality.

Leave a Reply

