Letting toddlers do what they want

screaming toddler

If there’s one thing I have to live with most of every week, it’s the shrieking voice of my toddler nephew. Every morning on a weekday, I have to wake up to the near constant wailing and general noise caused by my nephew and his mother. Apparently it’s one of those situations where she lets him run around, but shouts at him when it becomes a nuisance to her.

In an age where we just want a quick fix, it’s common to sit toddlers in front of the TV and expect them to be quiet. However, there are many bad parents who do almost nothing when their toddlers think they’re the centre of existence, and when they try, it almost always involves cruelly shouting at them, perhaps to compensate for their own failings.

Contrary to the title of this post, I’m not advocating that we let toddlers do whatever they want. That would obviously end in unmitigated disaster. What I’m actually advocating is that parents get off their asses and do their job competently. By that, I mean treating toddlers like human beings, as opposed to just picking everything for them.

On the other hand, we will have to be ready for when they inevitably go hyper. I know from experience that they won’t just go hyper once. The problem with my nephew (which I assume is the problem with a lot of toddlers with young parents) is that he is given plenty of negative attention. I really don’t know what the problem is in his case, but that’s because I really don’t like being involved in those matters.

There are numerous tips that can be found on the Internet to help parents raise toddlers in a difficult situation. However, the kind of bad parents I’m talking about are probably more likely to use the Internet with the different purpose in mind.

It’s probably going to be a while before I no longer have to live with the dismal tunes of my nephew’s general noise-making, but I still stand by what I say, and I still draw some comfort from the fact that I won’t have to live with it forever. I’m hoping that young parents across the country don’t all make the same mistakes.

Leave a Reply

