5 most overrated rock bands

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas, because I’m back, and I’ve got a post that might just divide opinion. Why? I’m talking about the bands I don’t like, but most other people like.

I must warn you that I’m not going to go easy on these bands. They could be some of your favourite bands, and if you don’t like what I’m saying, then you shouldn’t really be reading this post right now. Whoever’s offended is not my responsibility.

And now, without further ado, it’s time to name (and hopefully shame) the most overrated rock bands whose music I’ve heard.

5. Coldplay

coldplay

If there’s one band that constantly played on the radio when I was finishing the sixth form, it’s Coldplay. Frankly, I couldn’t stand Coldplay, mainly due to their hit single “Paradise”, which made them darlings for BBC Radio 1. The song “Paradise” used to play almost all the time, and it only became more annoying as the year 2012 passed.

I honestly don’t see how their music can even be classified as rock. Yes, there are rock songs that sound more like pop songs, but with Coldplay, it’s not even unique, since pretty much all “post-Britpop” bands are like this.

Besides, any rock band that’s willing to do a duet with Rihanna has lost credibility as a rock band.

4. The Killers

the killers

Another band that loads of people like is The Killers, which makes my list because when I was in my early teens, I was always annoyed by their hit song “Human”, mainly because of that famous “are we human” line.

Just like Coldplay, The Killers’ particular style seems to blur the lines so much that it doesn’t even sound like rock at all. “Human”, for example, tries to be like an 80’s dance-pop song. Incidentally, The Killers have been known to dabble in pop sensitivities.

Also, if you haven’t heard of them before, and someone tells you about them, the name might be a little deceptive, especially since their sound basically amounts to harmless family-friendly rock that even your parents can get into, and that doesn’t sound good at all.

3. 30 Seconds to Mars

30 seconds to mars

Oh lord, I knew I’d have to mention these jackasses sooner or later.

My first criticism is with the band’s style and image, as demonstrated by the above picture. It just oozes the typical LA spirit of making yourself look like you’re better than everyone else. Also, I find it astonishing that there’s a guy named Shannon, but that’s not the point.

To be fair, it’s not so much band. If there’s anything that I really don’t like about the band, it’s their lead singer, Jared Leto.

Jared Leto himself doesn’t come across as a very likeable person. After the band’s fourth album came out this year, the band apparently became so big, that Jared felt like he had to have his face everywhere, and I mainly say this because of the band’s incessant activism, and Jared’s endorsement of MTV Act (itself a shallow effort by MTV to look like it give a damn about the victims of Typhoon Haiyan).

In all fairness, they aren’t the worst band in the world. I can think of at least two popular bands worse than them, which brings us to…

2. Nickelback

nickelback

They’re the darlings of the post-grunge movement, they’re the pioneers of “yarling”, and they’re a right pain in the ears.

Back in the days when nu metal and post-grunge were cool, Nickelback was doing the unthinkable: converting it to a mainstream stadium sound. To put it simply, Nickelback is a money-making machine, and when a band’s primary focus is on making money, they aren’t really artists.

I’ve never really liked their music, mainly due to the fact that it appeals to sensitivities. The lead singer (who at this point looks like an even poorer man’s version of Nicholas Cage) tries to appeal to both boys and girls: appealing to boys with his tough guy façade (and his singing voice), and appealing to girls by acting all sensitive and broken (when in reality, he might not be at all).

Also, ever since their commercial breakthrough, they’ve basically been playing the same kind of music with every new album, leading to some very annoying rock singles. Seriously, I got tired of “Rockstar” ages ago.

But they aren’t the worst band on this list. There’s one that even worse.

1. Green Day

green day

Oh no, not them again!

Dammit, this has got to be the third time I’ve mentioned Green Day in this site at all, and I hope this is the last, because I really don’t like Green Day.

Way back in 2004, I couldn’t stop hearing of Green Day and the other pop-punk bands of the time, and I was so f***kin’ annoyed by the pop punk sound. I hated Green Day as a kid mainly because their music reminded me of Busted and McFly (who I hated even more), but nowadays, it’s because they’re basically a bunch of sell-outs (in my humble opinion).

Yes, I understand that Green Day is very popular band, but hey, that’s why they’re on this list. Besides, can’t help but think they have something of a juvenile image that just reinforces the slogan of teen rebellion, even though the band members are now in their 40’s. Call me crazy, but isn’t it a little strange that a bunch of men in their 40’s are still the darlings of the stereotypical “teen rebellion”?

My point is that I couldn’t stand them when I was a kid, and I can’t stand them now, and that’s why they’re at the top of the list.

Leave a Reply

