5 things I like about winter

a snowy tree

Isn’t that beautiful?

It’s December, it’s cold, the trees are pretty much bare, and Christmas is just around the corner. That means only one thing – winter is coming. Six months ago, I wrote a post about the things I don’t like about summer. This post is basically the complete opposite of that post, in that it’s about the things that I like about winter.

Of course, since there’s a bit of Christmas involved, I’m making this one of my Christmas-related posts for this year. But anyway, without further ado, let’s get this list started.

1. It gets darker during the winter

dark winter sky

For some reason, I’ve always liked it better when the clocks go back. When I was a kid, I always thought the darker skies looked amazing. At this rate, it’s surprising how I didn’t become an astronomer.

I think the beauty of it mainly comes from the lighting. When the skies go darker, the street lights come on, and the street lights have that amber glow that makes things look really good in the dark.

Not to mention that during this time is when the Christmas lights come on, and that’s when the lights contrasting under the black winter sky get to really kindle the imagination, or distract me with their pretty colours. Either way is rather soulful.

2. Aesthetics and style

winter sweater

I’m not a very huge fan of the “summer style”. I much prefer the “winter style”. I don’t know why, but it just appeals to me for some reason. It may sound strange for someone who’s 19 to actually prefer it, but then again, I’m different to most boys.

Of course, this goes beyond just clothes. I find that the old-timey styles and aesthetics work better in the winter, even though I prefer it any time of the year.

Also, winter generally gets the whole icy look, which I happen to be a fan of.

3. The warmth feels better inside

a room with a fireplace

If only I actually lived there.

During the summer, the heat is everywhere, and many times, you either love it or hate it. But during the winter, it’s so cold outside, that you actually want to keep yourself warm, or else you’ll feel very uncomfortable over the next few months.

Trust me, during the winter, there’s no greater pleasure than coming come to a warm house, or with a warm food.

When I was a kid, there was a heater in the old kitchen. During the winter, it produced warm air, and for that reason, I’d often sit in front of it just to get some of that relaxing warm air. I don’t have it anymore, but it felt really good.

4. There could be snow afoot…

winter snow in wales

Whenever the snow finally falls in this country, the news media always seem to have a very “doom and gloom” attitude to it, probably because the country seems to grind to a halt because of it.

I hope I’m not the only one who’s totally stoked when there’s snow? During the winter, there’s a very real possibility that it’ll come with snow. When I was a kid, this meant that the school gets closed, which was always great when I was a kid, so when it doesn’t come, I always get really disappointed.

The snow itself looks fantastic. It’s basically white flakes falling from the grey, cloudy sky, and when the snow piles up on anything, it looks good. Besides, snow conjures up another crucial image in my mind.

5. …and Christmas is just around the corner

christmas

Christmas is probably the best part about the winter. It’s a few days after winter really begins, but it just brings out that warmth inside us. Besides, it’s the time of year where we can be festive, indulge on lots of food, and generally feel good about ourselves while we worry about the cold.

Christmas is easily my favourite holiday of the year, mainly because everything gets bigger, brighter and jollier. Take the campy pantomimes out of the equation and it’d be even better.

Overall, I do find winter to be better than summer, but that doesn’t make me a cold person, or the kind of person with an overly bleak outlook on life. I just like it much better. If you agree that winter is better, leave a nice little comment.

Leave a Reply

