Dreaming of the American thanksgiving meal

thanksgiving dinner

That looks really damn nice. I want it!

Ever since my days in America ended, I’ve always wanted to keep certain American customs alive in the UK. One of those was Thanksgiving Day, or more specifically, the Thanksgiving feast.

Obviously we can’t have the same epic proportions as they do in America, so when my Mom does it, it basically comes down to the turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce (if we have any at all), vegetables, and our attempt to create the classic American pumpkin pie.

Every year, we’ve tried to make the classic American pumpkin pie. We get closer to it every year, but we’re still not quite there yet. This time, however, I not only bought a can of Libby’s Pumpkin Pie filling (which I also did last year), but I also printed out a recipe for how to properly use it.

This year, my Mom’s going to try again, with the Libby’s can, and with that recipe I gave her. I’m hoping I get lucky and we end up replicating the American pie exactly, because I know it can be done. I’ve seen it before in America.

If this works, then one of my childhood dreams will come true. After ten long years of waiting, I’ll hopefully get to experience the true American pumpkin pie once again.

Leave a Reply

