My thoughts on Doctor Who

doctor who logo

The Doctor Who logo as I remember it.

Seeing as it’s now the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who, I figured that it’s finally time for me to address a topic that I’ve been steering clear away from for so long, but have only become open about recently in college.

Sometimes I don’t like to think about it, but there was a time in my life when I liked the show. When I was 13, I felt there was pressure upon me to move away from the cartoons I loved so much as a kid. In my search, I found Doctor Who, which I felt had some interesting ideas.

At the time, I was willing to take idea from the show, and was rather patient of when I’d ever see the classic series (which lasted from 1963 until 1989). However, as soon as my Mom found out that I was watching the show, things went downhill quickly.

Apparently, my Mom thought I was a full-on fan of the show, and went around getting my Doctor Who merchandise. At first, I was just a little annoyed, but otherwise I was fine with it. However, the annoyance factor reached the tipping point when my Mom suggested that I go to a Doctor Who convention in Cardiff, in the summer of 2008. At that point, I stopped watching the show entirely, not because of any issues with the quality of the show, but because people had taken my interest in the show way too far.

Unfortunately, during David Tennant’s run as Doctor Who, the show became heavily commercialized to the point that after I had stopped watching the show, I came to view it as basically a mainstream, family-friendly sci-fi show that only a child could be frightened of.

When they replaced David Tennant with Matt Smith, however, things got exponentially worse. They changed the damn title (which didn’t even need to changed at all), and Smith’s companion was likely chosen just for sex appeal. Matt Smith himself just looks unappealing, and to me, he comes off as the 1Direction of all the incarnations of Doctor Who, mainly because they marketed the ever-loving crap out of him, knowing he was inferior to David Tennant. Not to mention, the show has gained the same cult status as football gets in this country. The tabloids love that show, and they make news out of the main star.

If that show has been around for 50 years, maybe it’s time to finally let it go. Times have changed dramatically since the “classic series” ended in 1989, sci-fi is not the same now as it was 24 years ago, and some things we thought were cool years ago now seem totally gay, especially with the amount of overacting in David Tennant’s run on the show (not to mention that the plotlines were getting ridiculous).

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great that the show managed to survive as long as it did, but no TV show should ever last more than 5, 6, or even 7 years, because after around 100 episodes, the writing goes stale, and the episodes end up having ridiculous premises. Besides, the Simpsons has 25 seasons now, and that show’s been going down the crapper since The Simpsons Movie came out.

Overall, I haven’t really got a whole lot against the show, other than how out of hand it’s gotten. Will I watch the upcoming Peter Capaldi episodes? Absolutely not. Will I ever watch the Matt Smith episodes? Hell no. Will I watch the David Tennant episodes again? I highly doubt it. Will I watch the Christopher Eccleston episodes again? Maybe, maybe not. Will I ever watch the “classic series”? I’ll think about it. But one thing’s for sure, if we as a nation really love this show, we have to be willing to let it go. After all, it probably won’t be too long before the show runs out of ideas.

5 thoughts on “My thoughts on Doctor Who

  1. My sister’s a massive who fan, and I’ve started to watch the show.

    Her impression is this:

    The matt smith stories are actually well written (Steven Moffat is a good writer at epic story lines with scope and scale over a season or even several) but they lost some of the campy self aware charm (for instance in one of the tennant stories he mentions saving Charlamegne from an insane robot)

    Honestly, I don’t hate Matt Smith as the Doctor. He can be immature and inattentive, but he also means well and is genuinely heroic (he’s willing to sacrifice his very existence in order to save all reality). His enthusiasm and passion are oddly charming. Some of the companions who are with the Doctor are pretty interesting (yes even the ones with Matt Smith). And there actually have been things that have been reinvented or reintroduced well (the primary antagonist of season 7, the great intelligence, had been infrequently used in the 60s due to behind the scenes bullshit, and as such it was possible to get more mileage out of it.)

Leave a Reply

