My Wii U wishlist

wii u

There’s no point in denying it anymore. I am interested in the Wii U. Playing the Rayman Legends demo back in May gave me a hands-on experience of what the Wii U can do. If I get round to being an actual developer, I may consider supporting the Wii U, so long as I don’t have to totally utilize the Game Pad’s touch screen.

However, the Wii U is suffering the same problem as the 3DS, in that there aren’t many good games for that console. Sure, some new titles have been announced, but Nintendo needs new titles soon. If anyone from Nintendo is reading this, then I think they could learn from this post, because in this post, I’m going to suggest a few ideas for new games that would actually convince me to get the Wii U.

Pokémon Battle Revolution X/Y

mystery pokemon game

The status of this game is currently unknown.

I know, I mentioned quite a few times before that I want a new game like Pokémon Battle Revolution, so I may as well make this the first item on my wishlist.

I think this game should be made because the original Pokémon Battle Revolution was the biggest reason I wanted the Wii so badly back in 2007. If a similar game made for Pokémon X and Y were made for the Wii U, that would be the perfect lure for me to get the Wii U.

Of course, it would need all the features from Pokémon Battle Revolution, but with improved character customization. Also, perhaps inevitably, I would need to recognize all the Pokémon in X and Y, and be able to connect with the 3DS.

A new Metroid game (and it’d better be a good one this time)

metroid

Ever since the massive flop known as Metroid: Other M, there have been no plans for a new Metroid game in 3 years, and Nintendo has yet to lift the lid on any new ideas.

What we need is another first-person shooter game for the series, but not under the Metroid Prime label. I say this because the Metroid Prime trilogy has already been finished. Metroid Prime 3 was established as the end of the Metroid Prime trilogy. Therefore, we need a new Metroid game with a new story.

I also want to see classic ideas done in new ways, and I don’t want to see a game that basically copies Halo.

A new Star Fox game

star fox wii u

An entire generation has passed, and we still haven’t got a new Star Fox game, and no, Star Fox 64 3D doesn’t count. Frankly, I blame that god-awful Star Fox Command for the DS.

What we need a game that returned to the principles of the classic Star Fox 64, with a simple flight map. Essentially, I’d want it to be a longer, more in-depth sequel to Star Fox 64, complete with a smooth control scheme, new characters, new planets, and side missions.

Also, there should be a save feature. The only downside to Star Fox 64 was that it didn’t have a save feature.

A new F-Zero game

f-zero

This has got to be a no-brainer. We haven’t had a new F-Zero game for nearly a decade, and Nintendo has almost completely abandoned the classic racing game.

If you asked me, F-Zero deserved a franchise, because it effectively paved the way for 3D racing games today, and the series in general has a nice variety of comic-style characters.

Also, I don’t want a new generation of gamers growing up with their only impression of Captain Falcon coming from the Super Smash Bros. series.

Conclusion

Nintendo needs to make new and interesting titles for the Wii U, otherwise the Wii U will fail indefinitely, and Nintendo will suffer for it. If Nintendo wants to be taken seriously again, then they’ve got to get off their asses and give the fans what they want.

3 thoughts on “My Wii U wishlist

  1. I love Nintendo and the experiences they brought to me in the past. Very magical when I was a kid. They need to bring that magic back with the new generation. I feel bad for the new generation, because they haven’t really experience what true gaming is, it’s magical and makes your imagination expand.

  2. I think part of the problem Nintendo have is that they’re ONLY bringing out new versions of existing IP or complete remakes of classic games. The current gen of consoles has launched some amazing exclusives for both consoles along with the 3rd party. As much as I enjoyed all of these games the first time around, HD versions wouldn’t push me into buying a WiiU

    • I fully agree, if Nintendo wants to start turning a profit they should focus on new IPs like Wonderful 101. Also, they need to start matching their competitors specs. I think this is one of the big reasons why their console didn’t sell as much as they expected. It seems like most people are more content with a DS. Maybe they should focus on the handheld market? Anyways, good article! I always love wishlist articles 🙂

Leave a Reply

