What is the future of Pokémon?

pokemon x and y

Is this the future?

With only 30 days until the highly anticipated release of Pokémon X and Y, I think it’s time for me to express my feelings on what Nintendo is doing with the new Pokémon games.

Over the past month, much of the coverage has been focused on Mega Evolutions. When I first heard about it, I felt nothing but outrage. To me, this was Nintendo adding frivolous extra evolutions. Thankfully, I was placated when I found that Mega Evolutions could only be used in battle, and required a special item. But still.

I got madder when, rather than confirming the evolutions for the Kalos starter Pokémon, they not allow you to get the Kanto starters early in the game, but even more outrageously, they give Mega Evolutions for Venusaur, Charizard, and Blastoise.

Believe it or not, I’m actually fine with the new Fairy type, because at least it balances out the Dragon type. But still, Nintendo has consistently refused to reveal the whole X/Y Pokédex, in spite of the fact that the whole Black/White Pokédex was revealed before its release. This is why Pokémon X/Y shouldn’t have had a global release date. I’m fine with waiting for it to be released in Europe at 2014.

Last week, Nintendo unveiled Pokémon Bank, a feature that allows you to store Pokémon in a cloud-based storage system for an annual fee. WHAT!? Why should I have to pay more for a game that I already purchased?

This is bullsh*t! Is Nintendo joining the ranks of EA? It had better not be! And just for one final kick in the balls, you need it to get Pokémon from fifth-generation Pokémon games (Black/White/Black 2/White 2) over to the 3DS, because the Poké Transporter uploads Pokémon from those games to the bank. Added to that, Pokémon Bank won’t even be made available to us until the end of this year. That’s like building a bridge, completing it, and then not opening it for 2 months.

I’m assuming that the annual fee won’t be too much, but even so, Nintendo is just being really f**king greedy.

greed

With all that in mind, what does the future hold for Pokémon? When the seventh-generation Pokémon games come along, will Nintendo go back to the classic formula they’ve been going with for the past five generations (while keeping the Fairy type), or will they keep on casting tradition aside to the point that it has no meaning anymore?

If Nintendo really wanted to do something with Pokémon, how about they start up a network for fan-made Pokémon? The idea would be that it’d be a network for fans to share their ideas, and maybe make their own Pokémon universe. As a kid, I would have demanded it if I came up with the idea, and if it ever actually happened, I would have supported it.

I’ll still be buying Pokémon X, but I still think Nintendo is being too open-minded about completely stomping all over Pokémon tradition. Therefore, I will get a Kanto starter, but I won’t use it in my main party, because I choose to uphold the Pokémon traditions I was raised with, because my time hasn’t passed yet.

Leave a Reply

