8 games that I’m looking forward to playing

Okay, the wait is over. E3 has ended, and so it’s time for me to post again. For me, E3 hasn’t been as satisfying as it could have been. All the focus went to the PS4 and Xbox One, and Nintendo could have revealed more on Tuesday’s X and Y developer round-table event.

Regardless, there are games that I’m looking forward to playing. For this post, I’m going to list those games. There are a few requirements taken into consideration.

  1. They have to be on consoles that I have (in this case, the PS3 or 3DS)
  2. They can’t have already been out yet
  3. They need to be out soon

Without further ado, let’s get this started. Here are the games, in no particular order.

1. Pokémon X and Y

pokemon x and y

  • Console: 3DS
  • Release Date: 12th October 2013

I know this is the obvious thing for me to put in, seeing as I’m a massive Pokémon nut, but it is still worth paying attention to. Nintendo still hasn’t given enough information on these games, nor have they leaked enough new Pokémon.

With all seriousness, this new generation of Pokémon is set to be a massive step up from the last generation, and with all the new features, it’s probably going to be the biggest game in the series.

2. Sonic Lost World

sonic lost world

  • Console: Wii U & 3DS
  • Release Date: October 13th 2013

I’ve been waiting for the new Sonic game for a good long while now, and this actually looks like it’s going to properly take after Sonic Generations, along with taking Sonic to new grounds.

My only real problem is that it’s not available on PS3, even though months ago, Sega hinted that there’s going to be a new Sonic game for all platforms. I just hope that the 3DS and Wii U versions aren’t too different.

I am looking forward to having greater control over the movement though.

3. South Park: The Stick of Truth

south park the stick of truth

  • Console: PC, PS3 and Xbox 360
  • Release Date: 2013 Holiday season

This game has been in the works since 2012, and I’ve been waiting for it since Christmas. However long I have to wait, I’ve always wanted this game, and I have a good feeling that it will be the first good South Park video game.

Because Trey Parker and Matt Stone are actually involved in the game’s development, the game is incredibly loyal to the show, in terms of both style and mythology. The greatest thing about this game is that it plays like a classic RPG, and lets you make your own character that you customize with more freedom than a standard online game.

I have a feeling that this will be the most fun experience that a recent RPG can offer.

4. Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

castlevania lords of shadow 2

  • Console: PC, PS3 & Xbox 360
  • Release Date: Winter 2013/14

As I’ve mentioned before, I do have a degree of faith in Lords of Shadow 2. Why? Because the last game in the trilogy, “Mirror of Fate”, demonstrated that the “Lords of Shadow” canon has a future.

What’s going to be so good about the upcoming sequel? Well, it’s going to be the last game in the trilogy, which means after this, we may finally see a normal Castlevania game again. In this game, you still play as Dracula, but this time, he’s shown to have cooler powers, and the game is also reported to have more open gameplay.

I have a confident feeling that this will improve over the garbage pile that was the original Castlevania: Lords of Shadow.

5. Super Smash Bros. 4

ssb for 3DS and Wii U

  • Console: Wii U & 3DS
  • Release Date: 2014

Holy goddamn! We’ve been waiting for this announcement for 5 years, and now it’s not only coming to two consoles, but it’s also going to feature Mega Man. F**king Mega Man! I’ve been waiting for this for so long!

Oh, and I personally called it Super Smash Bros. 4 because I don’t like the tentative title Nintendo came up with.

Here’s hoping they ruin it the way they ruined Super Smash Bros. Brawl.

6. Rayman Legends

rayman legends

  • Console: Wii U, PS3, Xbox 360, PlayStation Vita
  • Release Date: 30th August 2013

I remember playing the Wii U demo of Rayman Legends a month ago, and I’m also aware that it’s on PS3, which is great for someone who doesn’t have a Wii U (which I understand the game was meant for).

I loved Rayman Origins, so I have every reason to believe that Rayman Legends will be just as great, and I’m also interested in the direction Ubisoft is going to take.

7. The Mad Max video game

mad max 2014

  • Console: PC, PS3, PS4, Xbox 360 & Xbox One
  • Release Date: 2014

When I heard that a third-person vehicular combat game based off the Mad Max movies was coming out, I had to take some interest in this. From what I can tell, this is probably going to be a gem from the new year.

For me, the main selling point of this game is the ability to customize your vehicle into a veritable war machine designed for post-apocalyptic survival. There’s only one game that I’ve seen this sort of thing before – Jak X.

This is going to be fun, right?

8. Rambo: The Video Game

rambo video game

  • Console: PC, PS3 & Xbox 360
  • Release Date: August 13th 2013 (according to Amazon.co.uk)

Let me set the record straight: I like Rambo! Rambo is the epitome of what every action hero should be, and now he’s going to get his own action game.

It’s going to follow the plot of the first three movies, and it’ll let you play like Rambo fought in the movies. I know that it wasn’t shown in E3, but even so, I feel it needed a mention.

Even if the critics say it sucks, I’ll still pick up this game.

Leave a Reply

