The lost console

sega pluto

Could this be the real deal?

I just heard of the news that a mysterious, unreleased Sega console was found in a US flea market, and is now up for auction. Being a console buff, this sounds like the kind of territory I would walk. I don’t know a whole lot about the story, but I do have something to say about it.

To my knowledge, the story goes like this: on Wednesday, a second model of the Sega Saturn (now known as the “Sega Pluto”) was discovered in Japan by a former Sega employee.

There’s not a lot that’s known about it, but what we do know is that it’s pretty much identical to the Sega Saturn, just with a Sega NetLink modem built into the system.

Putting aside all the speculation, I want to ask one simple question: why wasn’t this system released at all?

I think I might have an answer to that question. The Sega NetLink was an attachment for the Sega Saturn that allowed you access the internet and send email on your console. It sounds really cool, considering that this wasn’t common in the 90’s like it is now, but in the 90’s, virtually nobody used the internet, due to it being so damned hard to use.

I think the reason Sega didn’t release it was because you could already get a Sega Saturn with a Sega NetLink in America, but do you know anyone who used a Sega NetLink? Of course not. I’m sure everyone forgot about the Sega Netlink as soon as the Dreamcast was announced.

Besides, there’s no real need to release something that was effectively the same console. It’s like when they scrapped the Sega Neptune, which was going to be a standalone version of the Sega 32X.

Well, that’s about all I can say about this matter. I hope I can talk about old consoles again someday.

One thought on “The lost console

Leave a Reply

