Lamenting the death of “Freak Out”

Today, I received word that the Games Academy lecturer will not be returning for the rest of the college year. talk about a bad start to summer term. I was really hoping that I could continue work on it.

For those of you who don’t know, “Freak Out” was a video game project I was working on with a few of my college classmates beginning in October 2012. It was being made in the Coleg Sir Gar Graig campus in Wales as our project for the Games Academy. It was supposed to play like the original Grand Theft Auto, but with a series original design choices to make it feel more like the 70’s.

The plot was about a 70′s pimp named “Sweet Daddy” Clarence, who takes LSD and winds up in a freaky dimension that’s out of the ordinary,  and it’s up to him to find out what the hell is going on, while surviving the onslaught that’s coming at him.

In short, it was supposed to be an awesome concept, especially compared to what Team Azbo was originally going with (which was essentially a basic zombie shooter). I was trying to pave the way for something original. However, numerous factors conspired to ensure that this would never see the light of day.

A month before Christmas, my class found out that they were behind on one of the units, and that Games Academy had to be cancelled in order to make time to catch up. This was the first sign. The second sign was that, after Games Academy returned in mid-February, the amount of people who attended would progressively decline, to the point that I was the only one who always came.

It had gotten so bad, that I was the only one from Team Azbo who was left. My initial worry was about how I was going to look after the files my teammates left behind.

Finally, Games Academy was killed off, due to the unspecified illness of the lecturer. What this meant was that a potentially brilliant game was killed off as well.

Of course I feel bad about it. It was something that I helped create, and it was something I wanted to do. It was as though I lost a job. Either way, I’ve got to move on from it. Games Academy was going to fail anyway, due to poor planning and timing.

Leave a Reply

