Don’t fall for McDonald’s Monopoly Fortunes

monopoly fortunes

This post is about my 6-year long frustration with the whole “McDonald’s Monopoly” thing. Since I first heard of it in 2006, I’ve been buying into it because of its devilish promise of winning £500,000 (£50,000 as of 2012). Imagine what my 12-year-old mind must have been thinking.

kid with lots of money

I so wanted to have all that.

For six years, I would keep trying, and every year, I failed. How does the game work? You basically put stickers on a mock Monopoly board, and if you get all stickers of a certain type, you win a prize. The only time that has ever happened in my life, is when I won an iPod Shuffle from the game in 2011, and I never used it on the basis that it was made by Steve Jobs.

But, wait a minute. You’re paying for a meal hoping to win prizes (or money) with every purchase. Doesn’t this technically amount to gambling, especially because luck is involved? Before you say anything, luck is involved. There’s a random chance of you ever getting all stickers of a certain type. McDonald’s would often say that there’s a “1 in 3 chance” of winning. That’s bullcr*p. Since those are pretty big odds, then if there really was a 1/3 probability of winning, then I’d be rich by now. There is probably a different set of odds for winning the large sum of money.

In this regard, this makes it the exact same scam as the lottery. Every time the lottery comes up (which is every week), you go out and buy lottery tickets for a pound or two, hoping that your numbers show up on TV, and when your numbers don’t show up (and we all know they won’t), you’ve just gave the Lottery organization your hard-earned cash, which they then redistribute to the next jackpot, that may be won be someone else. In essence, that makes the lottery the ultimate Ponzi scheme, because it’s perfectly legal.

I’m probably not the only one who’s failed to win the huge sum of cash from the McDonald’s Monopoly game. I’m pretty sure that across the UK, there were others in my position, sharing the same frustration (though I’d really like to meet the kid who actually won the money).

Before you say anything, Monopoly Fortunes is the exact same game as “Best Chance Monopoly” (2009), “Monopoly Millions” (2012), and “Monopoly Triple Play” (2011). Therefore, Monopoly Fortunes has the exact same rules as the games before it, and that means the cash prize is still rigged. Yes, I’ve failed so many times that I actually suspect that the cash prize is rigged, so I only one person (10 as of 2012) in a year can have it, saving the McDonald’s corporation a lot of money.

And that is why I believe that you shouldn’t fall for the Monopoly Fortunes game, and it’s also why I will never participate in any similar contests. If you’re attempting to win the cash, don’t bother, because it’s all a big scam. I guess the moral of this story is that if it sounds to good to be true, it probably is.

Leave a Reply

