The problem with Pokémon X and Y

pokemon x & y

Yes, this is 100% genuine.

A few days ago, Nintendo announced something big; the sixth generation of Pokémon games for the Nintendo 3DS, complete with 5 new Pokémon. For the first time ever, a main series Pokémon game will be in full 3D. What could be wrong with that? That’s easy, they announced it too early!

Pokémon Black and White 2 have only been out for exactly 3 months now, and already, Nintendo has decided to announce a new Pokémon series right out of the blue. I myself only found out about this on Thursday, but I believe I can safely talk about it, as a veteran Pokémon fan for about 11-12 years now.

My first concern is that is they’ve decided to announce it way too early. I thought that Generation VI wouldn’t start until at least next year, or 2015 at the latest. As I just said, Pokémon Black & White 2 have only come out for 3 months, and Nintendo has the nerve to sucker punch the hell out of us with a brand new generation of Pokémon. They didn’t even try to hold us over with a spin-off game. You know what I would have wanted? A new version of Pokémon Battle Revolution for WiiU, that’s more like the classic Pokémon stadium and lets you use Generation V Pokémon. That would have been a much better announcement.

Every generation has had at least one so far:

  • Pokémon Stadium (Gen I)
  • Pokémon Stadium 2 (Gen II)
  • Pokémon Colosseum/XD: Gale of Darkness (Gen III)
  • Pokémon Battle Revolution (Gen IV)

Generation V on the other hand, has had no equivalent as of yet, and because Pokémon X and Y will come out in October (or at least that’s the plan), I don’t think that will happen anyway. If I wanted a “Pokémon Battle Revolution 2”, then not only would it have to be on the WiiU, but it would also have to cover the new Pokémon from X and Y.

pbr 2

That’s my hopes down the crapper.

My second problem is simply the fact that they’re basing the new land on France, complete with Eiffel Tower rip off. Why can’t they go back to Japan? I don’t even like French culture, so I find this hard to believe. I could tolerate Unova being based on America, but not this.

My third problem is that maybe, somewhere along the line, Nintendo is taking too much of a risk. Most fans wanted Pokémon Ruby and Sapphire remakes to come next. Yes, I personally think they’re unnecessary. Why? Because we can already get Gen III Pokémon into Gen V by transferring them from the Game Boy Advance cartidges into Gen IV, and then into the PokéTransfer in Gen V. I imagine that something like it will occur in Gen VI. But I guess Pokémon Ruby & Sapphire did come out 10 years ago, so a Ruby & Sapphire remake would be apt at this point, and it would hold us over until X and Y came out.

But disappointing the fans isn’t the real risk Nintendo is taking. They’re running the risk of destroying the traditional principles behind Pokémon. I praise the Pokémon franchise because it consistently manages to stay true to its traditions without growing stale. It’s one of the last classic video game franchises to have this attribute. If it turns out that going 3D will involve killing all sorts of Pokémon traditions, then I’ll almost completely lose faith in the new generation of Pokémon.

Honestly, Nintendo has no respect for Generation V whatsoever. Pokémon Black and White aren’t even 2 years old yet (maybe in Japan they are), and Generation V hasn’t had enough good spin-offs yet. I doubt that a lot of people have gotten through all the content on Pokémon Black and White 2 yet, and already they come out with a Pokémon X and Y announcement, and then slate a release date that’s too early. I would have preferred March 2014 as the release date.

As generations go, I am not enthusiastic at all with Generation VI. But I suppose I won’t be with so little information, and so soon. I guess in the 9 months I’ll be waiting for it’s release, more information will come up, hopefully reassuring me that it won’t be so bad.

chespin

Congratulations, it’s a beautiful baby boy!

Leave a Reply

